Rapid City, South Dakota   4 comments

We had a few days before rendezvous for our next Adventure Caravan Tour, so we decided to do some motorcycle rides in the Rapid City area. We spent some time here last summer and really enjoyed it.

We hadn’t been out to Jewel Cave National Park, so we decided to investigate. The cave itself was pretty kool, but it was difficult to get photos to do any justice. On the way out there, we passed a presidential monument, not Mt. Rushmore, but I guess someone is competing.

I don’t remember taking note of all the dead trees in the hills, but we found out that South Dakota had a major fire in 2000 and the grass is just now starting to come back.

Crazy Horse is not even close to completion. I’ll have to compare last year’s photos with this year’s.

Our best stop was the Prairie Berry Winery for some wine tasting.

Red Ass Rhubarb is their most popular. I like the bottle.

The rides were beautiful.

We saw our first Buffalo in the wild

Almost any ride that you do in the area, you are going to see Mt. Rushmore.

How often have you seen the moon over Mt. Rushmore? It amazes me every time we come around the bend and there it is. Mt. Rushmore, bigger than life. It’s one of the most amazing sites.

Deadwood was having an auto show and “Kool Deadwood Nites” featuring The Platters and Shanana. On the scenic road out there, we encountered 17 deer. As we approached town, I could see why they call it “Deadwood”.

Once in town, I spotted Elvis!

The most interesting vehicle was

It seems like the whole area had their own car show. I just love all the places fixed up like the “ole times”

4 responses to “Rapid City, South Dakota

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your adventures are awesome. I can’t wait till the kids graduate so we can travel like this!

    • I hope you don’t have long to wait. Bill and I have been planning to do this for at least 15 years. You haven’t even seen what we do on our caravan trips yet. You can check out my previous blog at carolnbill.blogspot.com as I just recently moved over here to wordpress. We just love it and Adventure Caravans is a wonderful company.

  2. This is an excellent post and may be one that ought to be followed up to see what the results are

    A companion e-mailed this link the other day and I will be eagerly looking your next article. Carry on on the superb work.

    • You haven’t even seen what we do on our caravan trips yet. You can check out my previous blog at carolnbill.blogspot.com as I just recently moved over here to wordpress. We just love it and Adventure Caravans is a wonderful company.

Leave a Reply

